MT PINNABAR (Victoria) RECONNAISSANCE TRIP

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:03
ThreadID: 41102 Views:6883 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
MT PINNABAR (Victoria) RECONNAISSANCE TRIP

-----------------------------------------------------------------
GPS TRIP DETAILS 8/1/2007
Distance 1053km time driving 15:50 hrs Av speed 67kmh

Left 5am 8/1/2007 - back 11:30pm (18 1/2 hours)

Max speed 171.6 kmh - not really, gps errored in a treed gully.

CAR DATA -- Trip 1014km Odometer 127276
( applied tyre correction factor 4%)

ROUTE Melbourne ,Wodonga ,Corrong , Mt Pinnabar
Colac Colac , Wodonga

FUEL Shell Wodonga 110.5lt ($1.125-10%GST)
Croydon Safeway 66.8lt ($1.125-4c)

TOTAL 177lt 1053km 16.8lt/100km 4800 manual 2002 Patrol

Like a lot of potential Xmas campers our holiday plans
have had to be changed to skirt around the constantly
changing Victorian fire threat.

The area we have camped in (around Dargo) for the past 6 years has
been closed off to campers because of the potential danger.

While our actual campsite area appeared ok, all the access
roads were closed and we had to make alternate plans.
We choose to stay west of lake Eildon where we own bushland
and re-acquaint ourselves with the many many tracks in the area.

Xmas was very hectic with a constant stream of visitors and we lead
several trips into some tough tracks and generally had a ball of a
time, tackling them and making new ones.

But we hadn't found any time for doing any new exploring !

After 2 1/2 weeks of this, we decided to just pack for an
overnighter and head off via Omeo to the large Mt Pinnabar
state forrest some 500km from Melbourne as it has so far
remained free from fire.

Mt Pinnabar is a must do destination as its the highest
point you can drive to on a public road in Australia and
we like many others often drove around it to more well known
places like the Davies high plains and Murray crossings in
the Tom Groggin area.

Two days before setting off the fire websites began reporting fires south
of Omeo and next day sure enough the roads were closed.

Not put off we picked up the newly released Rooftop
"Corryong-Omeo-Thredbo" adventure series map and planned
another alternate route via Corryong.

With only 1 or 2 days to explore the area and at least a
1000km of driving we planned to leave early (5am) from Melbourne.
At 7pm on night before we left a check of fire websites listed
a small fire on Nariel crk right on our planned drive path just
to west of Corryong.
Again we planned a new route further to the east via Thowgla
on the chance that the small fire would be contained and we
could do a loop taking in the best 4wd tracks.

Leaving Knox 4:50am arrived at Wodonga 312 km later at about 8:30
In order to convince the wife to get up early, I promised her a
Soya-chino at Macdonalds, however no Big-mac could be found in
our casual drive through this town of 30,000 (impossible).

Knowing better we got one at subway , which after 1 sip we
returned and got our money refunded and prompt wrote Wodonga
off our list of approved tourists stops.

Arriving Corryong 428km at 10:45am (almost 6hrs trip time)

A couple of weeks prior to this my brother had spent several
days in the area and with this input we planned a loop thru
the heart of the forrest via Mt Pinnabar which took in the
best tracks as follows -

Corryong-> Thowgla Upper and on to Walkers log road.

Checked out Gray's and Bullockys camping areas , both of these were
empty with lovely little clear mountain creeks with room for 3-4 lots
of campers, and driveable nearby tracks.

Walkers log rd became Dead Finnish track which are hard gravel 2wd.

At Mt Pinnabar/ Dead Finnish track jn the track became 4wd and
surface changed completely to soft dirt and there was recent
logging at this junction.

As we left junction for the climb to top we were heard a call
on our UHF which was set to scanning by a {"with-it") driver
half way up the mountain who had spotted our white GU below.
Our 4800 patrol loves big hills and by the time we reached the trig
point at top of the easy 4wd track we had caught up with the driver.
It was now 1pm and 7 hours and 485km from Melbourne (Knox)
and we were on top of the 4wdrivable world.
The other driver and family turned out to be a NSW visitor and
we had lunch with them at the highest point (1780m) and enjoyed
360 degree views of the white smoke haze.
Still while the valleys were at 35c it was 22c up there and quite
delightful.

This was the only vehicle we saw in the entire 4wd part of the trip
and he had just driven thru from Falls creek via Dunstans log rd,
Gibsons hut on his way to Thredbo for the night. He had 2 months
ago acquired a 4500 GU after his Pajero had begun to fall apart
and was loving the new car. (His words)

Said goodbye as he headed for Tom-Groggin and we took the harder
"Upper Shady Creek " track west.

This proved to be a lovely track which made the whole trip
worthwhile by itself, its medium level and a showroom floor
patrol could drive it safely dry ,but you'd need a set of chains
if wet.
This 15km (2hr) track begins at almost 6000ft altitude amongst 2m high
snow gums and is often rocky and narrow with small ledges.
Many trees were down with diversions in place and the track
winds thru open lush grassy country with steep drops before
beginning a long steep downhill section.
In places it was overgrown to the extent that shrubs scrapped both
sides of the car at the same time.
Being lush and green at this altitude they caused no damage.
Track appears little used, but on most of it we had CDMA
phone coverage and access to a couple of UHF repeaters.

Onto Wheelers hut, via Cattlemans where we parked the car in the
river crossing and washed it down a bit and had afternoon tea
in the deserted but very good condition hut. This camping area
could take a dozen cars at least and is probably the best spot in
the area for a base camp.
Checked out tracks in area and found another nice but unlisted
spot nearby where "Paddy's joy" track insects with the river.

Nearby tracks worth driving include six mile ridge and Zulu creek.

All tracks were sign posted and had no trouble following the map.

We checked out two or three other small campsites by creeks and
the now 2wd dirt road (Wheelers creek log road) turned north and
joined the main Benambra Corryong dirt road which winds down
into the valley.
In the valley there seemed to be more campsites and the road became
bitumen again.
One large free camp area was marked "Stacy's Bridge".
This lovely spot had a full sized RV as its only occupant.

The good road winds north thru the valley for another 20km
with more camping areas, all vacant before coming out to the
main Hwy again at "Colac Colac" just west of Corryong which
we reached at 6pm, 13 hours into our trip which was now
essentially over.

The main Mt Pinnabar 4wd country is hard and steep with campsites
generally small, with the valleys south of Colac Colac generally
larger and easier.

All in All this area can be recommended as a 4wd High country
destination outside the more well known and currently not
accessible central areas.

P.S. Wodonga was restored onto our approved stop list
after we brought petrol there at 112.5 cents after
paying 113.9 the night before near bottom of Melbourne cycle.

Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:10

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:10
Robin,
Great report. Was trying to imagine it in my mind.
Will have to do it one day.
Rob
AnswerID: 214646

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:52

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:52
I did Mt Pinnabar on the 29th Dec 06 with a mate in a day from Canberra. Great run with a rather steep climb though not overly difficult as long has it isn't wet, dry weather track only. Views are absolutely awesome and well worth the effort.
AnswerID: 214657

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:48

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:48
Hi Teabag

Put victoria in post title to save those far away from reading - but we sometimes forget distances , Its probably closer to Canberra than the 485km from Melbourne was for us.

FollowupID: 474933

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:57

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:57
Robin,

About 2 and a half hours from Canberra to Tom Groggin, so yes it is relatively closer than 485 from Melbourne. We are pretty lucky in Canberra for it's location though that's about it. Keen to go back to W.A......

FollowupID: 474938

Reply By: Happy GU Owner - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:18

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:18
Robin,

We did some of the same tracks over New Years, but instead came through Omeo, Limestone Creek Campsite, McCarthy's Track, Davies High Plain, Tom Groggin - Camped at Dogman's Hut, Mt Pinnibar through Tom Groggin Station, down the way you came up, Dead Finnish Track - made our way down to Wheelers Hut ( Thinking this is a great spot - let's not tell anyone about this one ), and back to Melb via Wodonga.

The other half was a bit worried going up Mt Pinnibar New Years Day because it poured with rain all night on New Years Eve, Rooftop map says extremely steep, campers nearby said we would never make it in the wet, as they had only just made it up the day before. However, we headed off because it was one of my must do's as well. Well, to cut it short, I think it was one of the easiest drives I've done in a while, but I could easily see how people have trouble. (It's also amazing how different peoples perspectives are when it comes to driving some of these tracks - sometimes I hardly think it's worth asking "What's it like mate", unless you know the perspective of where the people are at)

Great trip and certainly a must do - from the top you think that could be the only ones left on earth, everyone else could be gone and you'd never know it !!

Rooftop Map is great too, great hints on good points of interest. We ran out of time, but would have loved to have gone on to Mt. Gibbo from Mt.Pinnibar, as the view, apparently is just as spectacular.

Spoke to the Petrol Station owner in Omeo, and he mentioned that it was very quiet due to the fires, didn't even sell enough fuel on Boxing Day to cover electricity costs for running the pumps (his words), one fifth of his normal Boxing Day sales. I feel sorry for them all trying to scratch out a living this Summer.

Great to hear that someone else enjoyed the same spots we did, and I think that Exploder, from this forum and others, was at Wheelers Hut just before we were there and we just missed him also.

Mic

AnswerID: 214664

Reply By: madcow - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:41

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:41
Good report Robin, Just to convince the missus again next time take a turn right at the first roundabout after turning off the freeway into Wodonga and Maccas is about a km on your right. :))

AnswerID: 214693

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 15:49

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 15:49
It had to be Madcow

Couldn't imagine a town that size without Big M - wonder if its a McCafe ?

We stopped at Mobil roadhouse on entrance and tried for Soy-cino's but got that "You have to kidding look" so anyway we ordered two fish and chips with salad after noting no "Vegie Burgers" either.

I asked about the fish and it was pre-packaged battered fish , so I changed my order to chips and salad , saving $5, anyway when it arrived my order had been translated to two fish and chips instead of none - so my wife got three pieces of fish and went to sleep on the drive home.

So she was happy anyway, but will be happier thanks to your note

FollowupID: 474975

Follow Up By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 17:56

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 17:56
No McCafe in Wodonga, there is at the Albury Maccas on the highway.
FollowupID: 475004

Follow Up By: madcow - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:44

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:44
No Mccafe in Wodonga but the Mobil servo is a truckstop and serves up a good feed. The servo is commonly called "Wimpys" around here and used to be a pit stop on the way home from the pub for a hamburger years back. The Maccas in Albury is only just over the border after turning right (follow the highway) at the second set of lights and is a Mcaff! And may be a 24 hour one also.
FollowupID: 475121

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 20:23

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 20:23
Sometimes the answers to important questions are in front of your eyes.

Got Standard size , extra hot , weak , Soy-Chino this morning on Dargp trip at Traralgon and looked dwon at the tray.

THe piece of paper on the tray had map of Vic listing country McDonalds locations and even those that were McCafe

Doh!

FollowupID: 475280

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:34

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:34
was also down that way over the break. met up with Redback and a couple of others at Wheelers on Boxing day.
they had enjoyed a white xmas there the few days prior.
as i drove thru khankoban I could hear them chatting on the uhf and when i called them up they were at the top of mt pinnibar.
after a few more nights based at wheelers we headed to Long plain hut the across to Buchan where we had new year again this year at Timbarra river.
lots of new road grading as buchan area gets ready for the fires didnt make some of the roads as testing as last time.
Tried to move further east but found all campsites on snowy river very untrailer friendly .
then went via mckillops bridge but the upper snowy was just red mud after the rain further north.ended up in Bombala for the night.
down the newtons crossing the next daybut no space there, spent all day trying to find a campsite on the wallagargh riverlarge eneogh to accommodate 3 camper trailers but not a hope .
spent 2 windy days in eden then split for home.

shame about the fires as we had really enjoyed our time based at swifts and timbarra last year and had planned several weeks around dargo and Licola this time .
Guess we will have to wait a few years now for things to recover.

howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 214784

Reply By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:16

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:16
We also travelled this area over New years, beautiful country and very few people around.

We got to Wheelers hut about 5pm New Years eve, but the hut was already occupied by another group of 4 or 5 fourbys. We had hoped to stay here as it was raining, but with the amount of people crowded on the front veranda we decided to move on. With a quick look at the map, we decided on trying Mt Pinnibar (Gibson) Hut. No one was here, so we stayed for 2 nights (planned on 3), but on the third evening after dininer we were sitting in front of the hut when I turned my head to see a large tiger snake that had come from the grass in front of the hut. We both jumped out of our seats, and it went straight under the front step of the hut, we never saw it again after that. We packed up camp in a hurry and moved on. We tried to find the old logging huts on Dunstan Log road to set up camp, but it wasn`t until I got home I found out they had been burned out by the 2003 fires.
After we were unsuccessful at locating the huts / ruins, we decided to head towards Mt Pinnabar and find somewhere to camp, as this was to be our destination for the next morning, so we head off up Mt Pinnabar track. It didn`t take long before the track became steep, and having never been up the mountain before, I was unsure how far it was to the top and before we knew it we were on the top. We had no trouble climbing it, had lost a little traction in the dust and loose rocks on a couple of washouts, but otherwise it was fairly easy. The cover of darkness hid most of the scary bits and Joys white knuckles illuminated the car quite nicely :) .
We got to the top after 11pm, and were surprised to see another vehicle camped there. We pulled up and set camp up in the back of the car for the night. It was near full moon and the view was great even at night, made more spectacular with the rising sun in the morning. It was an awsome experience to wake up on the top of the mountain with a 360 degree view from the "bed", talk about feeling top of the world !
After breakfast it was then onto Mt Gibbo (via the Mt Gibbo track). The track was very dry and dusty, we pulled up on Mt Gibbo and it looked like the car had been driven through bulldust. Nice easy drive though, Mt Gibbo track looks more like a goat track with the amount of new undergrowth and saplings that have grown since the 2003 fires. The track is narrow and only has a few steep up and down bits, but no dramas. We then took the track down the other side and back onto the main logging road, where we headed back to Corryong.

We did manage to see another fourby with a ExplorOz sticker on our way back from sightseeing at Mt Mittmatite. 3rd Jan, it was a white Nissan (can`t remember if it was SWB or not) that had turned onto the highway from Khancoban direction. We followed it through Corryong before we stopped at the Mt Mittamatite caravan park fuel station. Sticker was on the rear bumper, passenger side, rego plate NIS-___.

Fuel has been cheaper Wodonga than Melbourne for at least a monh now, don`t know why. I think the biggest cost variation I saw between Melbourne and Wodonga was about 10c/L. Even some stations vary as much as 7c/L around town at times.
AnswerID: 214793

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 23:02

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 23:02
We stopped at Gibsons hut for lunch, we found a sheaded skin from that Tiger snake you mentioned while there, lol, nice spot though.

Off Dunstans Rd was Ski hut track, theres a hut there camp worthy, near the winch, for future reference.

On wheelers Creek Log rd we cleared around 5 fallen trees on the 23rd Dec when driving through that way, i think we were the first in a long while to come in that way, i left a comment in the Wheelers creek hut book.

Upper and Lower Shady Creek Tr, Six Mile Tr, Tea pot Creek Tr (with camper on in the pooring rain) Paddy Joy, Mt Gibbo just some of the great drives around that area.

Gotta love the Vic High Country

FollowupID: 475321

Follow Up By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 22:35

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 22:35
I think we maybe had been camping with the snake for 2 days before we saw it !

I saw your name in the log book and though "He`s from the forum !", signed on xmas day from memory. You were with 2 others ? Discowhite and someone else whos name I can`t remember.

I think we drove on nearly all the tracks you mentioned, first time for most of them, although have camped at Wheelers creek and Paddy Joy camping areas before. Looking forward to heading up there again, can never seem to get enough of the high country.
FollowupID: 475838

Follow Up By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 22:52

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 22:52
Although I don`t hink I`ll be going up there again too soon if the Hermit Mountain fire keeps going the way it is (8.5km NE of Mt Pinnabar, 20km SE of Corryong) :(

From the CFA website (9:30pm update) -
" The fire was started by a lightning strike and is approximately 750 hectares in size. The same location was burnt during the 2003 Alpine Fires. The fire is in steep and inaccessible country and poses no threat to private property.

NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) will be working with DSE and CFA crews overnight to prevent the fire from jumping control lines.

The fire is progressing faster than anticipated in the north east sector. The crews from NSW will be accompanied by DSE personnel to monitor fire activity overnight. The crews will instigate appropriate control measures if required. "

FollowupID: 475847